My Sunday Adventure

Yesterday after a great Breakfast of eggs benedict made by my dad Chuck I decided to take a wonder drive up the mountain via the Cherohala Skyway. Usually I make it to Stratton Meadows where I then head down the mountain via forest roads to where I start. Well I found snow,ice and fog and had to head back down the skyway.

081

After backtracking down the mountain I decided to give the North River route a try to get up the mountain, its mostly gravel/dirt forest roads and should give good traction up to and above the 3000ft mark. When I hit the road it was nice and dry and green, that would soon change.

101

On the way up it was pretty nice but I wanted snow and I did’nt have long to wait.
At the 2800ft make it started to snow turning the forest into a winter wonderland, it was sooooo quiet, the only sound was the running water and an occasional bird chirp.

212

265

272

It was real nice till I hit the 3000ft mark and it started snowing but I was bound and determined to make it to the top and Stratton Meadows where I could safely turn around and head back down the mountain. So in 1st gear my venerable Ford F-150 made it up the last 800ft climb and I got turned around for the creep back down the mountain… and more pics.

343

I’ll do a few more pics tomorrow before we head back to the Air Museum.

5 responses to “My Sunday Adventure

Leave a Reply

