A True Black and White Tuesday

All these pics were taken before 1960 with black and white film and feature my dad and family and friends. Its a look back in time and my roots.
Lets start off back in 1930 when my grandma Ethel was part of a dance troupe in Ontario Canada, she is the 5th one from the right.
ETHEL 5THFROM ROGHT 1930

Now we zoom forward to 1943 for a pic of my grandpa, my dad (in shorts) and my uncle Craig as the baby. Not sure who the other gentleman is in the pic but thats my grandpa holding Craig. This was taken in Ontario Canada.

GRAMPA WALLY, DAD,UNCLE CRAIG 1943

In 1953 my dad went to Mammoth Cave in Kentucky, he is on the third row and forth from the left.

RON PRESCOTT MAMMOTH CAVE 1953

Back to Ontario for the next pic in 1955 my dad and a pup. I hope my dad (Mr.P) remembers the name of the dog and he drop a a comment..

DAD IN ONT CANADA 1955

I’m a bit foggy about the last two pics, I know they were taken in 1956 and they are of my dad and his best friend John Barnes. They were in college at the University of Houston majoring in Geology and one summer they took a road trip and at an antique shop my dad bought a Tower Musket and John got a sword. On a side note thats the only time my dad wore a cowboy hat and just ignore the flag on the car, it was the 1950’s in Texas.. 😉

DAD AND HIS TOWER MUSKET 1956

DAD AND JOHN BARNES 1956

Hope ya’ll liked this step back in history, maybe next week I’ll do my mom and her side of the family..:-)

5 responses to “A True Black and White Tuesday

  1. Enjoyed these and your comments. I’ve recently opened one of a bunch of boxes crammed with old family (B&W) photos, and started the long process of scanning them. But, it’s such a challenge to date and caption so many especially when the players have since passed away, and memory seems woefully inadequate. We often need to resort to clues, like similar print characterostics of related images… M 🙂

Leave a Reply

