Sunday Stills: Flashback

This weeks challenge was to go back to our first photos and describe the camera used. Well, I’m going back to 1989 to 1992 when I was stationed at Ft. Irwin California in the middle of the Mojave desert. Ft. Irwin is the National Training Center or NTC for short. There we replicated a Soviet Motorized Rifle Regiment and trained U.S. Armored forces in how to fight them. It was a hoot for me, my first 35mm camera was a Pentax point and shoot and served me in the hostile desert environment. At the time I was not very good at composition and it took another 13 years for me to really get involved in photography. I still look back and enjoy these pics and think back to some interesting times….

Most of these pics show what we called VISMODS which are visualy modificated U.S. equiptment made to look like Soviet armor and vehicles, and the training area we used which was the size of the state of Rhode Island.

BLUE FORCE VEHICLE

BMP 618 CRITTER III

FT. IRWIN CA. 3

OPFOR RECON BRDMS

OPFOR T-72

SOKOL

As a bonus here are a few pics of me… at the NTC.

LONG NIGHT

ME AND MY BMP 236

ME AND MY BMP

MY DRT POSITION

And finally, I’m on the left.. 🙂

REGIMENTAL FORMATION FT. IRWIN

7 responses to “Sunday Stills: Flashback

  1. This was perhaps one of the hardest challenges, but also one of the best. I love your photos here; they tell quite a story, and really, for the time and the equipment they are pretty fantastic. thanks to this challenge, and getting the scanner going and digging out old photos, I may make a project of getting more of them on CD and sharing them with family. So, thanks for thinking of it.

  2. Thanks, I may have to do more at some time. Ft. Irwin was pretty fun, I also was stationed at Schofield Barracks Hawaii from 86-89 with the 25th Inf Div. 🙂

  3. Thanks, the first thing I did when I got a laptop was buy a scanner and went through all my photos and my parents pics and scanned them into the laptop..:-)

  4. I know those were great days for you. It looks like the idea of preparing soldiers for combat with Russian forces has new urgency. Now they’ll need a place like Kansas or Nebraska to simulate the Immense grasslands of Ukraine. Your talent was showing even then as your pictures indicate. And you were cuter too. Only a mum could say such a thing!

Leave a Reply

