How I Spent Last Saturday Night…..

By the time I got to the West Virginia welcome center on I-68 I could not even see the road. I had to look out the passenger side window to see anything and I used the rumble strips on the right lane to keep from going off the road. A few dumb asses passed me up only to find they could not see anything and jammed on their brakes… not the best idea, I went around them and they, like lemmings fell in behind me. Luckily the welcome center was only a 1/4 mile ahead and I couldn’t see the truck entrance so I just parked in the car area out of the way, it was an interesting evening to say the least, heavy snow and 20 mph sustained winds with gusts to 40mph kept the truck a rockin’ all night. I would say it ends there but I moved to Morgantown WV Sunday morning and parked at a Wal-Mart where it proceded to snow all day. It finally stopped snowing and in the evening proceded to Ohio where on Sunday evening into Monday morning the snow and high winds kicked up again and I stopped in Marion Ohio to wait this one out too. My company has had a lot of wrecks over the past month and I’m determined not to be one of them. I now have over 1.8 million safe driving miles and my goal is 2 million.. knock on wood.. Anyway I finally made it to Ft. Wayne Monday evening safe and sound, just in tome for the -15 degree weather… Is’nt life grand..:-)
DSC_5616

8 responses to “How I Spent Last Saturday Night…..

  1. I’m so glad you are more concerned with being safe — and being a safe driver for other people’s sake as well — than about keeping a time schedule that leaves no room for such brutal and bizarre weather. You are a wise and caring man.

    This weather has been so extreme all across the country that I can’t help but ponder whether this might be the time that Hell actually does freeze over. It could put a lot of people who have put off things until then into a difficult situation.

  2. Brrr!
    I’m glad you think safety first.
    We keep hearing reports about you bad winter while we’re having a relatively calm and mildish one so far. The downside is that it’s dry and we get huge brush fires on the Norwegian coast. Go figure.
    Keep aiming for those 2 mill. safe miles, and the for even more.

  3. Stay safe and warm, Ed. This winter has been brutal for so many of us, though most of us have the luxury of staying out of the elements when they are at their worst. I can remember driving through a snow storm a few years ago in the mountains of Pennsylvania. I was thankful to have a semi in front of me–the only way that I managed to stay on the road was by following the trail it was laying in the fallen snow.

  4. Stay safe! It is awful out there. Our son-in-law (also a trucker) has been stranded twice in his truck in the past week or so and is now sick with pneumonia because his company couldn’t get him out and to a warm place. Left home at six one morning and was still parked at the landfill with no heat at 10 PM

Leave a Reply

